Skip to main content

Northwestern’s 2014 Climate Change Symposium

May 19, 2014

EPS department chair Brad Sageman and postdoctoral researcher Dorothée Husson have developed the speaker line-up for Northwestern University’s 2014 Climate Change Symposium. Other NU collaborators for the day-long event included the Institute for Sustainability and Energy at Northwestern (ISEN), the Programs in Environmental ScienceEngineering, and Environmental Policy and Culture (EPC), the Plant Biology and Conservation Program, and the Alumnae of Northwestern University.

This year’s symposium theme, The Future of Carbon, addressed various aspects of carbon management and mitigation, presented by seven accomplished scientists, experts on shale gas and fracking, geological storage of CO2, carbon capture and transport, biological carbon sequestration, geothermal use of supercritical carbon, and the overall technical and political challenges of carbon management.  The event drew close to 200 participants.

Featured Speakers

Michael A. Arthur, Pennsylvania State University
A Blast of Gas: Global Unconventional Hydrocarbon Resources and Earth’s Hot Future

Omar Farha, Northwestern University
Metal-Organic Frameworks as Low Pressure Storage Materials for Natural Gas

Alissa Park, Columbia University
Towards Sustainable Energy: Carbon Capture, Utilization and Storage

Stefan Bachu, Alberta Innovates
The Role and Future of CO2 Storage in Reducing Anthropogenic CO2Emissions

Julie Jastrow, Argonne National Laboratory
Biological Sequestration

Martin O. Saar, University of Minnesota 

CO2 – Use it or Lose it! How CO2 can be used to Extract Geothermal Energy Instead of Being Lost to the Atmosphere

Ray Pierrehumbert, University of Chicago
The Unimportance (at best) of Methane and Black Carbon Mitigation in Climate Protection Strategy

This event was held May 16, from 8:30-5 PM, in the McCormick Tribune Center, 1870 Campus Drive, Evanston, IL 60208, and will be free and open to the public. For more information visit the 2014 Climate Change Symposiumwebsite

Back to top